The 2023 awards are now open to entry until 31 January 2023. Entry is free for ISTJA members.

Key Dates

  • 09:00 Sunday 01 January 2023 (GMT) – Awards opened to entry
  • 23:59 Tuesday 31 January 2023 – Awards close to entry 
  • May 2023 – finalists announced (date TBC)
  • June 2023 – winners announced at the annual awards ceremony (date and venue TBC)


In 2023 the ABSW is offering awards in 15 categories:

British Science Journalist of the Year – supported by the ABPI
Editor of the Year 
Feature of the Year: general audience
Feature of the Year: specialist audience 
News Item of the Year 
News Analysis or Explanatory Reporting of the Year
Steve Connor Award for Investigative Science Journalism 
Research Policy or Funding Story of the Year 
Opinion Piece/Editorial of the Year 
The Royal Society Audio Award – supported by The Royal Society
Science Podcast of the Year 
Video of the Year 
Stephen White Award for reporting of science in a non-science context 
The Dr Katharine Giles Award for best popular article written by a scientist or engineer – supported by the Dr Katharine Giles Fund
Newcomer of the Year – supported by The Quadram Institute

Further Information: